Just add colour

gemmabubblessketch-copy

I completely idolise the work of Matt Phelan and Emily Gravett. I really love the loseness and freedom in their work and find myself drawn back to it time and time again when I have the task of doing an illustration for children. Very good friend of ours asked if I would do something for their daughters birthdayand I did this little sketch and felt happy with it. When it came to adding colour the control freak in me tried to take over and I ended up doing it three times. I’d do it again if I had time but this is getting silly. I decided to go for the last one here. And then I look back on what I did for the same child last year, and realise that good progress has been made. Time to take the kids to the park.

gemma-bubbles02-copy

gemma-bubbles03-copy

gemma-bubbles-copy

One thought on “Just add colour

Leave a Reply

