Action

A little while before Christmas I promised a friend I could do 20 small sketches for her to use on cards for children’s meditation workshops. It seemed to make sense, as I wouldn’t be having any college assignments. In hindsight of course, what was I thinking? Oh of course I can do that whilst the kids are at home for six weeks, we’re renovating for visitors to arrive, it’s Christmas and of course there’ll be camping. So all in all by last night I’d completed a grand total of 2 sketches for her and she wants them all by the end of the month. I was getting myself in a silly state about it.

I woke up at 6am. I’ve done this before and it never seems to work to get things done. By the time I’ve made coffee and got my stuff out and sent one of the kids back to bed, it’s time to get breakfast ready. This morning though I sat and wrote two sides of A4 of garbled rubbish. Stuff that was going on in my head. It’s a thing advised in ‘The Artist’s Way’. Then I sat quietly and meditated a bit for 15 minutes as advised in ‘The Magic of Drawing’ and ‘Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain’. I know, it sounds like I’m spending far too much time reading self-help books instead of getting on with stuff. I was listening to a guy on the radio the other day talking in a slow monotone drone about meditation and being able to slow and control time. Quite frankly he just irritated the hell out of me. But, having done all this calming down and emptying my mind of thoughts I went on to complete 10 drawings without any fuss.  How is that possible?

Leave a Reply

