Unexpected events

‘Jump for Joy’

We’re having a faze of miserable, dreary weather in this area of Australia at the moment. It makes you want to chuck more wood on the fire and curl up with a cup of cocoa. I really wasn’t looking forward to having to driving across the Peninsula to drop off a couple of pictures at an art exhibition, but the whole experience turned out to be delightful. I unexpectedly bumped into a friend and fellow artist Christine (check out her work, it’s gorgeous) and we went for lunch at the gorgeous Flinders Bakery. Yummy spinach pie and great company. Then on the way home the sun came out, the Flinders road scenery was stunning and ‘Madness’ came on the radio. I found myself grinning to myself.

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been putting together a couple of pieces for the Illustrators Australia annual A3 show. Last year I entered an arty piece but after all the work I’ve done with the book for Hachette I’ve decided to focus on having fun with illustration for children. It really is what I love doing most. So here are my silly pieces.

‘Bush Dance’

‘Feeding the chooks’

Leave a Reply

